Friday, June 26, 2009

Pakistan win ICC T20 Final

Pakistan are the new ICC World Twenty20 champions after easing to a dominant eight-wicket victory over Sri Lanka at Lord's.

A devastating bowling display by Pakistan decimated Sri Lanka's top order, before man-of-the-match Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik steered them home in the run chase, reaching the 139 target with eight balls to spare.

Seventeen-year-old opening bowler Mohammad Aamer set the tone for the game with a wicket-maiden first over, taking the scalp of leading run-scorer in the tournament, Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Sri Lanka were in all sorts of trouble at 70-6, but Kumar Sangakkara hit a captain's knock of 64 not out, supplemented by Angelo Mathews who saw out the innings on an unbeaten 35 as Sri Lanka forced their way into the match at 138-6 after their 20 overs.

However, Pakistan looked comfortable throughout with the bat. A quick-fire 37 off 28 balls by Kamran Akmal got the ball rolling, before Afridi and Malik sealed the win.

Afridi hit two sixes on the way to an efficient 54 not out, which came from just 40 deliveries. Malik also played a good innings, giving the strike to Afridi as often as possible and scoring 24 runs himself.

The comfortable victory was particularly sweet for Pakistan as they lost to India in the final of the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 in 2007.

Link :

No comments: